My First Leg of Lamb!

My first Leg of Lamb and I am just going for it no recipe! This could be scary Hubby is the chef around here! It was his birthday and I figured the best gift I could give him was a day off in the kitchen. His favorite dinner is Lamb. It is not my favorite, Ella has no appreciation for it and Siena will not even try it. We are going to raise Sheep on our new homestead. I am working really hard to develop my love for Lamb meat! Ella and Siena love petting them , that is a step in the right direction!

lamb7

People always ask “how do you eat like this all the time”. It may be easier for me because I have the complete support of my Husband. He is special and has a heart so big! We met when I was a single mom with Multiple Sclerosis. That is a lot of heavy baggage. It did not even phase him that I was sick. He just looked at it like I needed him even more. Most men would have run and I would have bought them the shoes!

best me and andy

This is my all time favorite picture of US! The expressions are priceless. You will hear me say all the time that real food healed me. I thought about that statement the other day while watching Andy make us dinner. If real food healed me and he does all the cooking then he healed me! Thanks babe, I am on top of the World again because of you. I love saying that “he healed me”  We just keep getting better together!

breakfast in bed

Ella started Dads birthday day with breakfast in bed. A banana and tomatoes with his birthday present. A bowl of Paper White flower bulbs. They should bloom in a couple of weeks. Flower’s make us smile.  He also got a coffee with a scramble of Lamb bratwurst, eggs, onions, peppers and potatoes.

lamb 8

I started the dinner by cutting up all these beautiful root vegetable from Rainshadow Organics for this beautiful pasture raised Leg of Lamb from Locavore. Everything above was grown at Rainshadow except the onion and bone broth.

lamb 1

I browned the leg in garlic and the super awesome raw grass-fed butter from Windy Acres Dairy Farm. Look at this butter. It is pictured next to the best organic grass-fed butter you are going to find in a store. Look at how much richer the real butter is. And the taste, holy cow! Go find a Dairy Farmer and try real raw butter. You will thank me!

rea buuter

The smell in the house with the butter, garlic and Lamb was delightful.

lamb 2

I put it all in the crock-pot with a spice blend I bought at the Locals Thanksgiving Fair. A blend of mint, oregano, rosemary and thyme all naturally grown in Redmond, Oregon.

lamb 3

After adding all the vegetable, spices, and Lamb I put 2 cups of gelatinous bone broth in and topped and it off with water. Set the crock-pot on high for 6 hours and went on celebrating the Birthday boy.

lamb 4

“Birthday” Leg o Lamb by Beth Schultz

  • 4 Pound Pasture Raised Leg of Lamb
  • Tablespoon Grass Fed Butter
  • 1 Rutabaga
  • 1 Celery Root
  • 1 Onion
  • Head of Garlic use as much as you like
  • 4 Carrots
  • Himalayan Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 1 Tablespoon Rosemary
  • 2 Teaspoons Oregano
  • 1 Teaspoon Mint
  • 2 Teaspoons Thyme
  • 2 cups Homemade Bone Broth
  • Fill the rest with pure water
  • Set crock pot on high for 6 hours.

The roast came out so good I now love Lamb meat. This is the best dinner I have ever made all by myself. Watching Andy happily eating my food brings me joy.

lamb 6

***Now for a Paleo confession I served it over mashed potatoes. Yep the white kind. Actually these are the organic Purple Viking Potatoes  from Rainshadow Organics. Hubby does a work share there every week for free vegetables. I was out-of-town for a couple of weeks this summer and he started bringing home these beauties. He apologized when I got home knowing they are not on the Dr Wahls Paleo Plus diet. I had read all the other Paleo people were doing it,  so I gave them a try.  My mouth was happy, the tummy felt good and I noticed no brain inflammation. I usually react to food pretty fast. Dairy and eggs are an instant headache, brain fog and irritability. I have never had gluten since giving it up. I do not know how I would react and I am not interested in finding out.

lamb 5

I have been eating the potatoes for a couple of months and haven’t noticed any negative effects. I do consciously limit them to a treat. I think the sweet potato is a better choice and is more nutrient dense.  But having options is always nice!

my fam (1)

*****I did not start re introducing foods until I was in remission. I am still healing the damage that was done to my brain and gut. But I am not having any type of active Disease anymore. Re introduction will be different for everyone. Go slow and be patient.

Remember be kind to yourself. Stress slows down digestion so you are not getting all your nutrients. Choose to be happy!

Beth

Follow me on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/realfoodinspiredme?fref=ts

2 thoughts on “My First Leg of Lamb!

  1. Thanks for the great recipe. Beth. I’ll try to find a leg of lamb over at Locavore. Sounds like you know some great foodie places in Redmond….would love to hear, one day… Bon apetit!! ((-;

    Like

    1. Thank you! Locavore has some great Local meat available. We just got a call from our Farmer. Our half Grass Fed Cow is at the Butcher. A half weighed in at 650 pounds before butcher. We are going to be well fed all winter. I would love to share with you all the Farmer’s I have met. We have so much wonderful food here in Central Oregon. It is so much fun to buy right from your Farmer! Take care and keep commenting. I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

