The best Vegan Pumpkin “Cheesecake” Grain/Dairy/Soy/Egg Free. And Thanksgiving Pictures!

pumpkin

Thanksgiving may be over but Pumpkins are in Style all Winter! We had Pumpkin 3 ways for Thanksgiving, all delicious. We started the day with Danielle Walkers “Pumpkin Spice Muffins “. We created our own  Pumpkin Hummus Appetizer and had the absolute creamiest Vegan Pumpkin “Cheesecake” for dessert. Perfect finish to a perfect Paleo Thanksgiving. I have been begging my Friend to let me share her”cheesecake” recipe with all of you. She does not do the internet or write books, yet. I told her the World needed more Joy and her food provides that. So I cooked her a batch of the Pumpkin Spiced Muffins and asked her really nice if I could write her recipe on my blog and she said, Yes!!!! You are lucky people. A must try for everyone.

 Vegan Pumpkin “Cheesecake” by Sharon Nevin.

Crust 

  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1/2 cup Medjool Dates
  • 1-2 Tablespoon cold water if needed

First blend almonds in blender until almost flour like, then add walnuts and dates. If mixture is not sticking together add a little cold water til sticky. Put in 8-9 inch spring form or tart pan. You can line with parchment paper.

pum ch 2

Filling

  • 1 1/2 cups cashews soaked overnight
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup pure pumpkin
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup
  • 1 tsp. Cinnamon
  • dash of himalayan salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla bean powder
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg fresh ground is best


Drain soaking cashews and blend til almost smooth add all other ingredients and blend for 3 minutes. Add to prepared crust and freeze for at least 4 hours. Overnight works best. Once frozen put in refrigerator and enjoy once it thaws a bit.

pum ch 1

Serve with Coconut Milk Whip Cream and this amazing Raw “Carmel” Sauce also written by my Favorite Raw Food Genius.

Creamy “Carmel” Sauce by Sharon Nevin.

  • 1/2 Cup Cashews soaked for 1-4 Hours
  • 6-8 Large Pitted Medjool Dates
  • 1/8 Cup Distilled Water
  • 1/4 Cup Maple Syrup
  • 1 TBLS. Vanilla Bean Powder
  • Pinch of Himalayan Salt

thanks 9

I can not even believe how good this turned out. Wow it is so creamy and delicious you would never know it is Healthy! If I can do this anyone can. Seriously I have NO kitchen skills.

2012

Thanksgiving is a big day for me. It is my Real Food Anniversary!!! I did not go Paleo but I went Real!  I drank my last can of Coke and ate my last bite of processed food Thanksgiving 2012. I was a HUGE Coke drinker, a total sugar addict. 1 with every meal. Giving it up was scary and life changing. I will never stop being thankful for real food and the knowledge to eat it! Pictured above is me at 200 pounds with a big fake smile on my face. I had perfected that smile!

thank 014

Our 2nd Paleo Thanksgiving was a complete success! We ate like Queens and Kings and enjoyed our time together cooking. Above is our Appetizers. We had Olives, Pickles, Grain/Dairy/Egg free crackers from Elana’s Pantry. Super easy to make so we made 3 flavors.  Garlic/Rosemary, Dill/Onion and Honey/Cinnamon. We served them with a Pumpkin Hummus(recipe coming soon) and Diane Sanfilippo Almond Herb “Cheese” Dip. .

Vegan Herb Crackers from Elana’s Pantry

  1. In a large bowl, combine almond flour, salt and and Herbes de Provence or any Herb
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together olive oil and water
  3. Stir wet ingredients into almond flour mixture until thoroughly combined
  4. Roll the dough into a ball and press between 2 sheets of parchment paper to ⅛ inch thickness
  5. Remove top piece of parchment paper
  6. Transfer the bottom piece with rolled out dough onto baking sheet
  7. Cut dough into 2-inch squares with a knife or pizza cutter
  8. Bake at 350° for 9-11 minutes, until lightly golden
  9. Let crackers cool on baking sheet for 20 minutes, then servethank 2

Ella’s highlight of the Meal was the Gerolsteiner Mineral Water with fresh Orange added. Kids are so easy to please sometimes. We spend 12 hours cooking and she likes the Fancy Water!

thank 7

Real and refreshing. She smiles and I smile!!!

thank 3

We had a quiet Thanksgiving this year. Just Me, Andy and Ella, we missed the Teen. She was off enjoying herself, hopefully eating gluten-free. They grow up fast. I am trying to slow down and remember it all.

thank 5

This was our first ever fresh never frozen Pasture Raised Turkey. It was a gorgeous 11 pound bird. The meat was so moist and dark. I love knowing that my Turkey lived a nice life, running around and eating real food. My Turkey never ate GMO feed and that makes me happy.

thank 8

This whole table has NO GMO food on it.I bet the cotton table-cloth is GMO.  We work hard to know what we eat and where it comes from. I am truly thankful this year for my Family and Health. You are what you eat, feel and think. Be awesome and real!

thank 4

One last Dessert I must share. It was so good. I may have made loud inappropriate noises as I opened the oven, and the house filled with the aroma of Local Apples, Cinnamon and Wild Huckleberries. Yesterday was the first time in a long time I did not diffuse any Essential Oils. I wanted to enjoy the real food smells.

ap pie

We served this with Coconut Bliss Ice Cream and the Raw “Carmel” Sauce. We used the Cobbler topping recipe from Practical Paleo and a blend of local apples, hand-picked wild huckleberries, organic vanilla bean powder, maple syrup, cinnamon and tapioca flour. Such a great meal. I am already planning next year!

thank 10

Blessed~Grateful~Thankful
Be kind to yourself!

oh yah

Follow me on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/realfoodinspiredme?fref=ts

2 thoughts on “The best Vegan Pumpkin “Cheesecake” Grain/Dairy/Soy/Egg Free. And Thanksgiving Pictures!

Leave a Reply

